SASSA: Everything you need to know


The South African Social Security Agency (SASSA) plays a vital role in the lives of millions of South Africans by providing essential social grants to those in need. Established in 2005, SASSA operates under the Department of Social Development, ensuring that the country’s most vulnerable citizens receive financial support. This blog post will cover everything you need to know about SASSA, including its purpose, types of grants, eligibility criteria, and the application process.

Purpose of SASSA

SASSA’s primary mission is to manage and deliver social security services to eligible individuals in South Africa. The agency aims to alleviate poverty, reduce inequality, and promote social development by providing financial assistance to those who cannot support themselves due to various circumstances, such as age, disability, or unemployment.

Types of SASSA Grants

SASSA administers several types of social grants, each designed to address specific needs:

  1. Old Age Grant: This grant is available to South African citizens or permanent residents aged 60 and older who meet the means test criteria.
  2. Disability Grant: Individuals aged 18 to 59 who are unable to work due to a disability and meet the means test can apply for this grant.
  3. Child Support Grant: This grant is intended for caregivers of children under 18 years old who meet the means test.
  4. Foster Child Grant: Caregivers of children placed in their care by a court order are eligible for this grant.
  5. Care Dependency Grant: Caregivers of children with severe disabilities who require permanent care or support can apply for this grant.
  6. Grant-in-Aid: This is an additional grant for individuals who receive the Old Age Grant, Disability Grant, or War Veteran’s Grant and require full-time care due to their condition.
  7. War Veteran’s Grant: This grant is for individuals who served in the South African armed forces before 4 September 1939, or those who fought in the Second World War or the Korean War, and meet the means test.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligibility for SASSA grants depends on various factors, including age, income, and residency status. Here are some general criteria:

  • Citizenship/Residency: Applicants must be South African citizens, permanent residents, or refugees with valid status.
  • Income and Assets: Most grants require applicants to pass a means test, which assesses their income and assets to determine eligibility.
  • Age: Specific grants have age requirements, such as the Old Age Grant (60+ years) and the Child Support Grant (under 18 years).

Application Process

Applying for a SASSA grant involves several steps:

  1. Gather Documents: Applicants need to provide identification documents, proof of income, medical reports (for disability grants), and other relevant paperwork.
  2. Visit a SASSA Office: Applications must be submitted in person at a SASSA office. During the visit, applicants will complete the necessary forms and submit their documents.
  3. Assessment: SASSA will assess the application, including verifying the provided information and conducting a means test if applicable.
  4. Notification: Applicants will be notified of the outcome. If approved, they will receive their grant payments through a bank account, SASSA card, or other payment methods.

Payment Methods

SASSA offers various payment methods to ensure recipients can access their funds conveniently:

  • SASSA Card: A secure card that can be used to withdraw cash at ATMs and participating retail stores.
  • Bank Account: Direct deposit into the recipient’s bank account.
  • Cash Pay Points: Designated points where recipients can collect their grant payments in cash.

About the author


Leave a Comment