Limpopo Premier Phophi Ramathuba Announces New Member of the Executive Council (MEC)

Today, June 18, 2024, Limpopo Premier Phophi Ramathuba announced the new Members of the Executive Council (MEC) for the province. The announcement brings a fresh wave of leadership aimed at enhancing governance and delivering quality public services to the people of Limpopo. Here is a detailed look at the newly appointed MECs and the departments they will lead:

Department of Education

Ms. Mavhungu Lerule-Ramakhanya Ms. Mavhungu Lerule-Ramakhanya steps into the role with a strong commitment to improving educational standards and ensuring equitable access to quality education for all learners in Limpopo.

Department of Health

Ms. Mashego Dieketseng Masesi With a robust background in healthcare management, Ms. Mashego Dieketseng Masesi is poised to address the challenges in the health sector, aiming to enhance healthcare delivery and infrastructure across the province.

Department of Cooperative Governance, Human Settlements, and Traditional Affairs

Mr. Basikopo Rogers Makamu Mr. Basikopo Rogers Makamu will focus on fostering cooperation among local governments, improving human settlements, and preserving the cultural heritage of traditional communities.

Department of Social Development

Ms. Fulufhelo Florence Radzilani Ms. Fulufhelo Florence Radzilani is set to lead initiatives aimed at social upliftment, focusing on vulnerable populations and ensuring that social services are accessible and effective.

Limpopo Provincial Treasury

Mr. Mahoai Kgabo Elias As the new head of the Provincial Treasury, Mr. Mahoai Kgabo Elias will oversee the province’s finances, ensuring fiscal discipline and effective management of public funds.

Limpopo Department of Economic Development, Environment, and Tourism

Mr. Tshitereke Baldwin Matibe Mr. Tshitereke Baldwin Matibe brings his expertise to promote economic growth, environmental sustainability, and tourism development, aiming to make Limpopo a key economic hub.

Department of Public Works, Roads, and Infrastructure

Mr. Rachoene Sebataolo Ernest Mr. Rachoene Sebataolo Ernest will be responsible for overseeing the development and maintenance of public infrastructure, with a focus on improving road networks and public facilities.

Limpopo Department of Agriculture and Rural Development

Ms. Kekana Nakedi Grace Ms. Kekana Nakedi Grace will drive efforts to enhance agricultural productivity and support rural development, ensuring that the agricultural sector thrives and contributes to the provincial economy.

Department of Transport and Community Safety

Ms. Mathye Susan Violet Ms. Mathye Susan Violet’s appointment signifies a strong commitment to improving transport infrastructure and enhancing community safety, ensuring that residents feel secure and have reliable transportation options.

Department of Sport, Arts, and Culture

Mr. Maseko Funani Jerry Mr. Maseko Funani Jerry will lead the charge in promoting sports, arts, and cultural activities, fostering a vibrant cultural scene and encouraging active participation in sports.

Premier Ramathuba expressed confidence in her new team, highlighting their diverse expertise and dedication to serving the people of Limpopo. The new MECs are expected to hit the ground running, addressing the immediate needs of their respective departments and working collaboratively to drive the province forward.

Leave a Comment