Women In MICE Bring Flock Onboard For 2018 Awards

Flock's - Mike Lysko (CEO & Founder), Jessica Allen (Senior Project Manager), Happiness Mbatha (Marketing & Support Assistant)

The Top 40 Women in MICE Awards, an annual conference and awards ceremony acknowledging the most dynamic women in the Meetings, Incentives, Conferences & Exhibitions industry in South Africa, made extensive use of the Flock Eventing Platform to ensure its 2018 event ran according to plan.

Started by 3S Media in 2014, Women in MICE encourages excellence and promotes greater mentorship amongst women within the area of MICE by tracking their stories and celebrating the ways in which they are impacting their colleagues, staff and affiliates.

Flock Eventing Platform is an online event management solution that streamlines how events are run and provides post-event analytics to help improve future events. Additionally, through an app which delegates download on their laptops, tablets or Smart Phones, it also enhances the event experience for all event stakeholders be they attendees or delegates, speakers or exhibitors, sponsors or organisers.


“We were delighted to partner with 3S Media and Women in MICE to assist with delegate registration, provide an online event page and customised mobile app for delegates to interact with, particularly as the function took place during Women’s Month,” said Flock founder and CEO, Mike Lysko.

“The Women in MICE Mentorship and Development Initiative, which matches women who are keen to mentor with those who requiring guidance be it through hands-on experience or exposure to the industry or help understanding the ins-and-outs of the meetings space, resonates with everyone at Flock.”

Speaking on the success of the event was Managing Editor of Meetings magazine and owners of the Top 40 Women in MICE Awards, Shanna Jacobsen: “It was phenomenal to have the expertise of Flock Platform to help manage our event and, having the digital add-on brought something really special to the Women in MICE Awards, which saw us trend on Twitter.”

The Women in MICE Awards 2018 was held at Avianto Conference & Wedding Venue. The programme included numerous presentations and the announcement of the Top 40 Women in Mice for 2018. They are:

  • Adèle Maritz – Cape Town International Convention Centre
  • Alshanthe Smith – Synergy Business Events
  • Angela Chatfield – Reed Exhibitions: Decorex
  • Annedi Wessels – Marketing Merchants
  • Beaulah du Toit – Litha Communications
  • Bhavisha Ramesh Ranchod – Soldiers Group
  • Bianca Roodt – Cape Town International Convention Centre
  • Bridget Borland – Sandton Convention Centre
  • Daria Higgins – True North Events
  • Devi Royappen – ABN Event Productions
  • Henriette Havenga – Scan Display
  • Joanne MacDonald – Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
  • Julie du Preez – dmg Events
  • Julie Hardres-Williams – The Forum Company
  • Karin White – VIP Marketing
  • Katja Schmidt – Potters Hand Activations
  • Khauhelo Rasemetse – Synergy Business Events
  • Koketso Menong – The Main Okasion Events
  • Leniese van der Merwe – Gallagher Estate
  • Lisa-Jade Merven – Ginger Biscuit
  • Lynne Cormack – Lyn and Associates
  • Marita le Roux – Exposure Marketing
  • Melanie Sillince – Core Competency
  • Michelle Hinrichsen – Iconique Brands
  • Mmabatho Sikhakhane – South African Tourism
  • Nadia Steenkamp – Mauritius Incentive Connection MIC
  • Nadine van Schalkwyk – Tourvest Incentives Meetings & Events
  • Natalie Stewert – AfrodizzyActs
  • Nicky Froneman – Off The Wall Events
  • Nonhlanhla Tshabalala – City of Tshwane
  • Phetogo Kubheka – Synergy Business Events
  • Rachel Jowahir – JSE
  • Sonto Mayise – Durban KZN Convention Bureau
  • Teresia Stander – SARCDA Trade & Events
  • Thabile Mdletshe – Fizz Marketing
  • Thiru Naidoo – Cape & Western Cape Convention Bureau
  • Tracy Mkhize – Cape Town International Convention Centre
  • Vivienne Wilson Lorin Bowen
  • Yoshni Singh Synergy Business Events

The Lifetime Achievement Award winner was industry stalwart, Amanda Kotze Nhlapo – chief convention bureau officer for the South African National Convention Bureau.