KZN schools to be honoured at CCBSA’s 2016 provincial Schools Recycling Awards

Learners at schools across KwaZulu-Natal are waiting in anticipation for Coca-Cola Beverages South Africa’s (CCBSA) provincial Schools Recycling Awards. While the national awards event was held in Soweto, Gauteng in September, the KZN regional awards will celebrate the contribution of learners in local communities who continue to drive the critical message of recycling both at school and at home.

Started in 2011, CCBSA’s Schools Recycling Programme (SRP) encourages learners at schools across South Africa to play their part and start recycling from a very early age. Schools that sign up for the programme have to commit to collecting a minimum of 1 000kg of PET per month – for which they are paid. Those that collect two or more tonnes per month stand in line to win prizes in addition to their monthly recycling revenue. The annual awards offer a further incentive, with winners receiving cash prizes that go directly to the school and can be used to upgrade facilities. With so many good reasons to take part, schools and learners in communities across South Africa have rallied around the call to recycle, creating cleaner, safer spaces for them to live.

CCBSA’s recent national awards saw Ekuthuleni Primary School from Ntuzuma in KZN announced as the R50 000 winner of the Primary School category, with Siphosethu Primary (Ntuzuma) and Abana Primary (Rustenburg) first and second runners-up respectively. In the high school category, Jabulile Secondary School from Orange Farm in Gauteng was awarded top honours, with Maxeke Secondary School (Evaton) and HB Nyathi Secondary School (Daveyton) receiving the R30 000 and R20 000 runners-up awards.

The KZN regional recycling awards will be held at four locations this month, with festivities geared to emphasise the importance of recycling – and how we can each make a difference at an individual level. The first event will kick off in Durban at the Moses Mabhida stadium on 19 October 2016. Schools from Umlazi, Ntuzuma, Inanda and KwaMashu will be in attendance, with excited learners waiting to hear whether their school has won an award.

Additional awards ceremonies will be held as follows:

Date Region Schools location Number of schools involved
19 October 2016 Durban Umlazi, Ntuzuma, Inanda and KwaMashu 92
21 October 2016 Richard Bay Esikhaleni 14
25 October 2016 Ladysmith Ladysmith 17
26 October 2016 Newcastle Newcastle 23

With close to R20 million already invested in the initiative since its inception six years ago, and over 710 tonnes of recyclable material collected by the 418 schools participating in this year’s programme, 3 952m³ of landfill space has already been saved – making the collective impact of the initiative far greater than the 500 000 learners whose lives it has personally touched.