BIC School Roadshow winners revealed!

Kenville Primary School. L to R: Mrs Zehrah Floris (Teacher form Grade 1E – she came in 2nd place with the 2nd highest number of entries as nominated by her pupils, she wins R3 000), Lillian Henderson (Marketing Director – BIC® South Africa), Mrs Saikoolal, (Principal ),Ronette Kishun (Marketing Manager – Stationery BIC® South Africa)

BIC® has given away R35 000 in cash prizes to various schools as part of its annual education roadshow.

Now in its seventh year, the BIC® School Roadshow – implemented and managed by Zinto Marketing Group – is part of an initiative to provide assistance nationally, to schools hampered by a lack of resources. In 2017, the BIC® School Roadshow focused on the KwaZulu-Natal region, the theme – If you can dream it, you can be it – allowed the brand to use the event as a platform for inspiration and motivation. Key messages included the importance of planning for a career, respecting parents and teachers, taking action against bullies and helping others – and, of course, the role of learning as learners strive towards their big, exciting goals. This roadshow targeted 150 primary schools in KwaZulu-Natal, reaching 80 000 learners.

One of the chief mechanisms used to raise awareness around the roadshow was a colouring in competition, with R35 000 in prizes up for grabs. Six winners, earning R1 000 each, were selected from various categories namely Best Foundation Phase Student, Best Senior Phase Student, and Teachers, with prizes awarded for the most entries as nominated by their learners in each school. Prizes were also awarded to the school with the most entries and, in the spirit of helping others, the winning school was able to donate R10 000 to a lesser resourced school of their choice.

This year’s winners included:

Kenville Primary School

  • R10 000 for the school with the most entries
  • Mrs Zehrah Floris – 2nd place winner of R3000

Sea Cow Lake Secondary

  • R10 000 for the school

Parsee Rustomjee School

  • Mrs A Hardin – 1st place winner of R5000
  • Mrs S Jokhoo – 3rd place winner of R1000
  • Keeshin Ganess – (learner) winner of R1000

Rose Heights Primary

  • Zakiya Vally (learner) – R1000 winner
  • Sanam Maharaj (learner) – R1000 winner

Rydalvale Primary School

  • Arian Kaithoo (learner) – R1000 winner

Ays Memorial Primary

  • Ria Ann Naidoo (learner) R1000

Dr Indira Learning Academy

  • Phoebe Odelle Chetty (learner) R1000