APEX awards 2018 jury announced

    As has been the case with the annual APEX awards in the past, the 2018 edition once more boasts with a highly regarded adjudication panel. The panel consists of captains of industry from a variety of disciplines, all of whom together will be combing through entries to find the ‘work that works’.  Drawn from strategy, digital, creative, research, media, marketing as well as agency heads, the list of judges is a veritable who’s who of the industry.

    For more than two decades, the APEX awards have honoured highly effective communications campaigns in South Africa and the jury will be screening entries for campaigns that rose above the clutter, had extensive reach and communicated via mediums that delivered on campaign objectives. The rigorous adjudication process spans three rounds during which submissions are judged against specific criteria including rigour, degree of difficulty, clarity of evidence, compelling case, and insight.

    “The tangible results attained by the campaigns entered into the annual APEX awards are the pinnacle of proof in relation to the profession’s contribution to business success. Winning an APEX adds and reinforces credence in what we deliver as an industry and reaffirms our contribution within the context of the broader economy,” says Odette van der Haar, CEO of the Association of Communications and Advertising (ACA) which hosts the annual APEX awards.

    An APEX award is a definitive manifestation of great ideas meeting great results. At the same time, it is an essential business tool that affixes value to credentials for agencies, marketers and leading brands. The awards programme recognises the work that provided creative solution to business problems, celebrating campaigns that demonstrated effectiveness in creativity. Those that extended beyond mere pictures and words, but rather showed strategic and creative intellect. These are the campaigns that add value to the currency of the industry.

    Concludes van der Haar: “Winning an APEX is a proverbial feather in cap not only for the agency, but also for the brand as it brings to the fore the contribution demonstrated by the campaign in terms of the company’s bottom line. APEX is about partnerships and collaboration between agencies and their clients in the pursuit of a common objective. To deliver efficacy in marketing and communications with respect to business success.”

    The 2018 APEX awards is proudly hosted by the ACA with Key Partner Provantage Media Group and sponsors Kantar Millward Brown.

    The 2018 APEX awards jury members are as follows:

    Ana Carrapichano Founder and Group CEO Mediology
    Andrew Shuttleworth Executive Managing Director House of Brave Group
    Andy Rice Chairman Yellowood
    Daniel Naidoo Director Gendel Interactive
    Fran Luckin Chief Creative Officer Grey Africa
    Gareth Leck Group CEO Joe Public United
    Ivan Moroke CEO KantarTNS / Co-Currency
    Jerry Anthonyrajah Head of Marketing, Strategy and New Business Development JET
    Julian Ribeiro Head of Marketing, Communications & Sales Stadio Holdings
    Kabelo Lehlongwane Deputy Director of Strategy FCB
    Katlego Moutlana Head of Strategy Mortimer Harvey
    Mick Blore Chief Creative Officer McCann
    Mike Jones Marketing Manager MultiChoice DStv Premium
    Mogorosi Mashilo Founder and Director TrendER
    Natalie Botha Creative Development Director Kantar Millward Brown
    Neil Higgs Independent Consultant ex TNS Global
    Odette van der Haar CEO ACA
    Priniven Pillay Independent Strategist  
    Refilwe Maluleke MD Yellowood
    Robert Grace Founding Partner & Head of Strategy M&C Saatchi Group
    Roxy Maqache Founder and CEO Desert Arabia Investments
    Sbu Sitole Co-Founder and Executive Creative Director The Odd Number
    Terri-Leigh Cassel MD Shift Joe Public
    Veli Ngubane Founding Partner and CEO AVATAR


    Connect with the ACA on Facebook at ACASouthAfrica and on Twitter @ACA_SA for regular updates on #APEX2018