2016 All Africa Business Leaders Awards call for nominations

New award categories will recognise innovation and company of the year

The 2016 All Africa Business Leaders Awards (AABLA) in Partnership with CNBC Africa announced its 6th year honoring outstanding achievements in business on the content, with an official call for nominations at www.aablawards.com

CNBC Africa pioneered the annual All Africa Business Leaders Awards (AABLA) in 2011 to salute and recognize remarkable business leaders, who through strength, innovation and foresight induce positive changes in an evolving corporate Africa. These business leaders are recognised at this annual awards ceremony as well as in special AABLA programming that is broadcast across the continent.

Now in its 6th year, the AABLA are Africa’s premier business leadership award presentation, that bring together some of the best-known personalities in corporate Africa today. More than 100 business leaders from around the continent have already been recognized for their vital business contributions through the AABLA.

The 2016 categories for East, West and Southern Africa are:

  • Young Business Leader of the Year
  • Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Business Women of the Year
  • Innovator of the Year (New Category)
  • Industrialist of the Year
  • Company of the Year (New Category)
  • Business Leader of the Year supported by Bosch
  • Philanthropist of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

Entrants compete not only to win, but to follow in the footsteps of previous years’ winners:

  • In 2015, the ceremony presented the coveted title of All Africa Young Business Leader of the Year to Edha Nahdi, Managing Director of Amsons Group.
  • For his sustained success and contribution to the banking industry, Segun Agbaje Company, Managing Director of GTBank was named All Africa Business Leader of the Year 2015.
  • The prestigious accolade of All Africa Entrepreneur of the Year 2015 went to Jason Xenopoulos, CEO of NATIVE VML.
  • Heads of WIPHOLD, Louisa Mojela and Gloria Serobe, were singled out as All Africa Business Woman of the Year 2015.
  • All Africa Industrialist of the Year for 2015 was Aliko Dangote, Founder of the Dangote Group in Nigeria.
  • Wendy Ackerman of The Ackerman Foundation walked away with the All Africa Philanthropist of the Year 2015.

Finally, the special honour of the All Africa Lifetime Achievement Award 2015 was bestowed upon South African retail pioneer, Christo Wiese, for his commendable contributions to retail and positive impact in business on the continent.

The 2016 All Africa Business Leaders Awards (AABLA) in Partnership with CNBC Africa will once again be produced by leading business events management company, ABN Productions. Finalists will be announced in August 2016 with regional award dinners to be hosted in Nigeria, Rwanda and South Africa. The Grand Finale will be hosted in Sandton on 11 November 2016.

For more information and to enter the awards, go to www.aablawards.com by 30 April 2016 and follow the AABLA on Twitter: @aablawards

Watch the highlights from the 2015 Grand Finale on YouTube at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZXSjplHndE